BREAKING NEWS: Caitlin Clark and Angel Reese are the leading stars of the WNBA All-Star team set to face the US Olympic squad.

NEW YORK (AP) — The WNBA All-Star squad, which is captained by A’ja Wilson and Breanna Stewart, will face the American Olympic team, which is composed of Caitlin Clark and Angel Reese.

The 12 coaches in the league, along with members of the media, players, and fans, chose the two outstanding rookies to participate in the game on July 20 in Phoenix on Tuesday. In the history of the league, this is the 20th All-Star Game.

With 700,735 votes, Clark received the most votes from the public. Her Indiana colleague Aliyah Boston came in second with 72,000 votes. With 381,518 votes, Reese came in fifth. Stewart and Wilson came in third and fourth. Stewart received 424,135 votes, while Wilson received 607,300.

The WNBA has benefited greatly from Clark and Reese in terms of attendance, merchandise sales, and ratings. With Clark ranking third in assists with 6.9 and Reese leading the WNBA in rebounding with 11.4, they are also performing well on the court. There have only been two rookies on the squad eight times. In 2014, Shoni Schimmel and Chiney Ogwumike were the last.

Basketball Fever Sky
Chicago After the Sky defeated the Indiana Fever, 88-87, in a WNBA basketball game on Sunday, June 23, 2024, in Chicago, forward Angel Reese (5) is interviewed by Holly Rowe. (Chicago Tribune/Eileen T. Meslar via AP)

Meslar, Eileen T.
The following players joined the WNBA team: Kayla McBride of Minnesota, Kelsey Mitchell of Indiana, Nneka Ogwumike of Seattle, Arike Ogunbowale of Dallas, Allisha Gray of Atlanta, Dearica Hamby of Los Angeles, Jonquel Jones of New York, and DeWanna Bonner and Brionna Jones of Connecticut.

In the 2021 All-Star game, which followed the same format with the United States team taking on a league All-Star team, Ogunbowale was named MVP. The game was won by the WNBA team.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.